Choice or Chance

During our Sharing the Planet unit, in Mathematics, we’ve been looking at probability. What are the chance of things happening? What is the probability? What choices do we make based on chance? Are we risk takers? Talk with your parents about what you’ve been learning in Math. Ask them about what choices they make based on probability and then comment on this post.

In your comment, answer these questions:

1. What is your strategy when playing SKUNK? What makes you do that strategy?

2. What are the chances of rolling a one?

3. What does the game of SKUNK teach you about choice and chance?

4. What is something you’ve discussed with your parents about choices based on probability?

The game of SKUNK

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Choice or Chance

  1. 1. What is your strategy when playing SKUNK? What makes you do that strategy?
    A: I didn’t have a plan because it was just luck.

    2. What are the chances of rolling a one?
    A: It is hard to get a one but I am unlucky so if everyone is sitting down I always get one.

    3. What does the game of SKUNK teach you about choice and chance?
    A: I think choice and chance game is some time it is unlucky and some time lucky.

    4. What is something you’ve discussed with your parents about choices based on probability?
    A: I went to someone’s birthday and I played game too. The game was taking candy I wanted to get chocolate but I didn’t. No!~~~~~

  2. What is the strategy for playing SKUNK?

    A: When a big number came I sat down.

    What are the chances of rolling one?

    A: not quite often.unless the person is really good at rolling one.

    What does the game SKUNK teach you about chances and choices?

    A: We have to guess and observe how many points are people getting by looking at their moves.

    What is some thing you’ve discussed with your parents about choices based on probability?

    A: we think this game is luck so we have to decide with your own will.

     

  3. 1. More than 20 I start to think that should I stop or take a risk. I also try to observe other players points.

    2. The same as rolling another number, it’s just luck or unluck 😦

    3. Sometimes it’s good to take a risk, but sometimes it isn’t worth it.

    4. This game is as lottery, you know how hard it is to win, but having a little chance keeps you trying.

  4. What is the strategy for playing SKUNK?
    A:sit down when you have use full points.

    What is the chance of rolling a one?
    A:not very often unless you just have really bad luck and like to roll ones.

    What does the game SKUNK teach you about chances and choices?
    It teaches you how to make good choices depending on the situation.

    What is something you’ve discussed with your parent based on choices based on probability?
    My dad thought it depends on the risk but that if you never take risks in your life you will never achieve anything of greatness and you’ll always stay in the same spot.

  5. 1:If it goes up to 30 then I well sit down.Because I think 30 is enough.
    2:The chances of rolling one is 2 of 12.
    3:I think this game is to tell you,you got choice and chance to win.But if you are to slow to sit or to fast you are going to lose the game.
    4:Last night it was raining and my family was waiting for fireworks.While we were so wondering about it would be cancelled, the fireworks started right at seven o’clock.

  6. 1.What is your strategy when playing SKUNK? What makes you do that strategy?I did it 3 rounds and stopped. I based it on other people’ s experiences in the game people seemed to have a one after 3 rounds. I don’t think it was a very good strategy because probability doesn’t work like that.
    What are the chances of rolling a one? 6 chances out of 36 or a 1 out of 6 chance of rolling a one.
    What does the game of SKUNK teach you about choice and chance? Whatever the choice you make the chance never changes.
    What is something you’ve discussed with your parents about choices based on probability? Me and my dad discussed about the chances of a megaquake (big earthquake)

  7. My strategy was that I didn’t take too much risk and sat down when I had a good number. I thing we roll a one quite a lot because we have two dices that means we have two one that we could roll and it usually comes out with another number. Choices could be unfair but if you work out in a good strategy you have a fair chance of winning. My mum said when its a earthquake she would either go near the door. My Dad said he had to choose which country to live in and bring up me and my brother. He chose Japan as it had the highest probability of living a happy life.

  8. Thanks for sharing your learning 5B. It’s great to see what you are thinking and your ideas and discussions with your parents. Welcome to grade 5! I know you are going to have a great year!

    Ms. Pender

  9. 1. I usually sit down on the second go or I feel risky and go higher.

    2. You usually don`t roll that many ones unless you have bad luck.

    3. That sometimes if you go to far and risk your self to much you can lose the whole game so you have to be very carefull

    4. My mom thought all Sunday if the Olympics will come to Japan or not and if someone we know will go in the Olympics because we will be seventeen!!!!!!

  10. 1.If it is 30 or 25 I would sit, because maybe next is 1 ,and 30 is not that less and I used too much risk and so if someone rolled 1 and I had to crossed it out. it is a math question.

    2.The possibility of one for one dice is 1/6, and for 2 dices will be 1/3.

    3.You should calculate and by chances, luck or unlucky.

    4.I discussed with my Dad, and he said, we need to use our brain in our life all the time, do not rely on the lucky things! Do your best anytime.

  11. I think it is just luck because you never no what you get. And what is relate to choice and chance is you have a choice to sit and get points or stand up and might get a zero or more points. I think about the game is that it is just luck to get a one or more points.

  12. my strategy is to flip my board over when it is the second roll because it is about 1/3rd out of 36 to get a one so its not much chance to get two other numbers. it teaches you that one is very likely to get a one. only with two dice though. because if you do it with one die every number has the same chance. we discussed a lot about the chance of getting numbers for the answer with two dice. this is how we did it. first you have to write down all the combinations and the answer of two dice. like the times table but only up to six with six numbers 1×6 2×6 3×6 4×6 5×6 6×6 and then you have to tally how many times each number comes up like 1 36 3 4 and 4 6 like that so that 6 has 4:36 for the answer 12 does to so if your gambling for two dice for the answer then go for six and twelve

  13. 1. I think about not taiking to many chanses.I like to sit down when the roller has rolled 2 or 3 times then I have like 15 or 20 and thats a good amount for me.

    2.Its not so big and it is not very often but if you are unlucky then you might get a 1&1.(I am unlucky)

    3.It is like you have a choice to sit down when ever you would like to and for chance is that you can get a 1. When you make a chice then you know what you will get but when taking a chance you dont know what you get.

    4. The weather forecast is based on propability.Sometimed the propability is high that they are correct and sometimes the propability is low

  14. My srategy is to do about 3 rolls and stand up( get out ).
    Be cause mostly about 85percent i am safe if i roll about 3 times.
    the chances of rolling a one on a dice ( 2 die ) is 2 out of 12 wihch is about 8.4 percent of getting a one on a dice. i learned to not be greedy because you would loose all your numbers if you get a one.

  15. 1. What is your strategy when playing SKUNK? What makes you do that strategy.
    My strategy is to gat a medium sized number by taking little risks and if that works in every time you will have a really high number.

    2. What are the chances of rolling a one?
    The chances of rolling a one are a 1 out of 6.

    3. What does the game of SKUNK teach you about choice and chance?
    It teaches you when it is necessary or not necessary to take risks.

    4. What is something you’ve discussed with your parents about choices based on probability?
    If there is a probability, you should take the risk because it could be something good, but not taking risk will leave you with wonder.

  16. 1. My strategy is to do a few rolls then stop.

    2. The chances of rolling a 1 out of 2 dice is14. SKUNK teaches not to be too risky and not to stop at once.

    3. SKUNK teaches us not to be too risky but not to stop at once.

    4. The chances of going to Disney Land is 1 out of 100. 0.1 If you don’t work on H.W

  17. 1. Try to get many points as you can and you have to seat.Don’t so greedy.

    2. It depends on your luck .

    3. We must be ready to take the risk whether lose or win.

    4. We cannot be so greedy and must be patience.

Leave a Reply

