Who We Are Presentations

Today we heard another two presentations about identity. Today’s discussions were about religion and identity and beliefs and identity. From the Loch Ness monster to Islam, students presented what they learned about beliefs and religion.

If you presented these ideas, how do you think your presentation went?

In the comments, answer the following:

  • Based on your research, what is something that you connected with (you might have known already)?
  • What is something that extended your thinking (something you hadn’t thought of before)?
  • What is something that challenged you (was difficult to understand)?
  • How do you think your presentation went? What would you do differently next time you present?
14 thoughts on “Who We Are Presentations

  1. These were another two great presentations. I enjoyed seeing how you presented what you knew with natural ease. One thing I connected with was your presentation about Islam. Since I lived in Turkey, I have been fascinated by Islam and have learned some things about it. I liked how you were interested in this religion because of one of your classmates. One thing that I didn’t know before was about some of the Japanese beliefs. I didn’t know about the chopsticks and sharing food, for example.
    One thing that challenged me was how Christianity was started and the why. I don’t think we had a clear answer. Next time, I hope that you’ll take more time to practice and speak loudly to everyone. Thanks for the presentations.

  2. I had already when to loch ness and didn’t have much luck finding Nessie so I thought I could dig in a bit more.
    During my research I found a monster called Chupacabra which I didn’t know about.
    I think I could have done it without notes and shouldn’t have stumbled too much on the words.

  3. The information that I collected was interesting and I already new a bit about laws against blacks in America. I didn’t know that Beyonce was bleaching her skin. At the beginning of my research it was hard to find information on race and laws but then I found laws on race in the past, in America. I think our presentation went pretty well but next time I will try not to read full sentences off of a piece of paper.

  4. Based on your research, what is something that you connected with (you might have known already)?
    What is something that extended your thinking (something you hadn’t thought of before)?
    What is something that challenged you (was difficult to understand)?
    How do you think your presentation went? What would you do differently next time you present?

    I already knew that genes made your personality alot. I didn’t know that the gene discovery was so recent only the late 19s. I also didn’t know that protien had alot to do with genes. This was dificult to understand because genes are very complicated (the most complicated thing in the world) and I was on a very complicated website. I think my presentation was good but next time I would not put my notes in whole sentances

  5. I already knew that genes made your personality alot. I didn’t know that the gene discovery was so recent only the late 19s. I also didn’t know that protien had alot to do with genes. This was dificult to understand because genes are very complicated (the most complicated thing in the world) and I was on a very complicated website. I think my presentation was good but next time I would not put my notes in whole sentances.

  6. I learned that not every one in the world get there presents on christmas but some kids don’t get presents at all.
    I also learned that in some other places people don’t share the same name for Santa.
    I thought that everyone in the word got there presents on the same day if you do get presents.
    The hardest thing was to put it in your own words.
    Al the research I got was were santa was from and his history and I wanted to know fact about Santa.
    Well I didn’t have a lot of cuts in my presentation.
    I would probably not look at the paper a lot next time.

  7. I know that there is many kinds of religions in the world. I hadn’t thought that there are so many pacific rules for he Islam religion. To get a lot of information about the Islam religion. I think our presentation went well and we all did a good job. I think I would like to have more time next time so we got to memories our notes more.

  8. My group did the Beliefs and I researched about Japanese belief. I knew that in Japan we can’t take food from hashi to hashi(chopstick to chopstick) because we do that in Japan when we take the bones from the dead person. There are seven gods in Japan and they are called sichifukugami all togetherI didn’t ever think
    about the sichifukugamis names. I think the presentation went quite well but not perfect. It was challenging when I spoke front of every one else. I want to work on speaking clearly.

  9. My group did personality.I researched about how autism affects who you are.I already knew that autism people have many brain damage.I noticed that normal people have damage too.
    I was thinking autism people still can marry but actually they can’t.
    I first couldn’t find a good site and It was really hard to find a good site.
    I think my presentation went not bad but I want to practice more on my presentations.

  10. My group was about religion, and I researched about the Buddhism religion. In Islam, they prey to the place called Mosque, and its like a church. I researched about Buddhism because I know some thing about Islam and Christianity but, I didn’t know about Buddhism so I wanted to research about Buddhism.
    It was hard when I researched on the computer, because some information is true but some are not. So it was a little bit challenging for me. When we ( the religion group) did our presentation, it was happy to tell other people about the information and I really did’t know much about the skin tone but the skin tone group talked about the information and I thing it went good. I liked it!

  11. I learned that religion is connected to people by for example, peoples perspectives, and clothing.I also learned that religions have connections between them and one of the reason why is because most of the religions were first all the same but they branched off. I never had really thought about other religions and how they work. For example I learned some stuff about the Islam religion like for example I learned that they prey 5 times a day. An they keep there selves very clean. I also learned that they are not aloud to touch certain kinds of animals. One of the challenging stuff was a bout the research. It was hard to actually divide the research that are peoples opinions and perspectives and the facts that are true and good. And it was also hard to actually paste photos on the presentation because the computer kept on freezing. I think the presentation went pretty good although there were some stuff that I my self needed to work on. when I was reading my notes i looked down most of the time instead of looking up sometimes. And I learned that the reason why I couldn’t look up more was because the whole sentence was rote on the notes I wrote. But I think I was pretty confident. And I also think I got good pictures and my page was pretty simple. ( Which I think I improved on ).

  12. I knew that some people beliefs in santa (Like Kai, he still beliefs) And I don’t belief santa because one day when I was 1st grade or 2nd grade my present was in the car so realize that there is no santa. And I little bit belief in ghost because I saw many movie about ghost.
    I was really suprised because in Japan, they can’t move the food chopsticks to chopsticks.
    Next time I should find more information because I found only little bit because it was really hard to research. I will reseach on brain pop and I think I should change the question little bit because it is hard to find if it’s just a question. For exemple my question is: What happen if you break the rule in religion? to Breaking rule religion.

  13. I thought that people believes in ghost by watching videos before I research about this.I did’t even thought that people wants to think that they hadn’t die and been a ghost and surviving. And about the one that you have to wash if you touch to animals. And the question The part that was hard is the typing because it was hard to nut copy the words.. Next time I want to speak in a loud voice so everyone can hear.

  14. I think the presentation went good.
    In the religion group Kalea did research about Islam and I know lot of thing about it.And I know that santa doesn’t exist.
    I don’t know about christian and buddhism much,and now I know it little bit.
    Next time maybe I will make my voice clearly and loudly.

Leave a Reply

