PYP Exhibition: Organization and the Weekly Checklist

How much help do we give students during Exhibition? The big question. After 5 years of facilitating the Exhibition, my answer is…quite a bit.

The Exhibition, designed for a student who has been involved in the PYP for many years, with a sound fluency in English, is challenging on so many levels. It’s exciting, engaging, but overwhelming. To engage in an in-depth inquiry, synthesizing all themes, incorporating all of the key concepts, resulting in a final presentation to parents and the community is a lot for any 10-12-year old.

It should be a celebration, and my belief is that to enjoy it and feel confident, most students need a lot of support. We want to release the students. Give them an end mark. Let go. Ideally, that would be what would happen. I have one student who can manage that, easily. He’s taken action already. He’s found alternative people to interview. He’s started a campaign. He’s reached out to the community. He’s already completed everything and more–all independently. Today, he told me, he could present his Exhibition tomorrow if he needed to. I believe him.

For the rest…My EAL students, my new-to-the-PYP, my students with learning challenges, honestly, a lot of the boys, laying things out week-by-week has been a saving grace. Our weekly schedule looks like this.

Screen Shot 2014-03-17 at 10.13.35 PM

Students see several weeks ahead. As a teacher, I have a full Exhibition weekly planner. Students have also have been given a final checklist as well so they can see the end. Every week, they sign up for conferences with me so I can see where they are and provide support.

In their reflections, I can see that they rely on the weekly checklist. They’ll talk about if they’re caught up or behind, based on their weekly goals. I haven’t assigned homework either, but we’ve talked about how to decide if they need to work at home. They’ve told me explicitly, they need the checklist.

At this age, I think laying things out weekly for the students makes sense. When they get to their personal project in the MYP, they’ll need to be more self-sufficient, but from what I’ve heard, it’s hard even then.

What are your thoughts on the organization of Exhibition? How much do you do for your students?

4 thoughts on “PYP Exhibition: Organization and the Weekly Checklist

  1. Oh my goodness it was so reassuring to read the following…..To engage in an in-depth inquiry, synthesizing all themes, incorporating all of the key concepts, resulting in a final presentation to parents and the community is a lot for any 10-12-year old. This is my first year facilitating the exhibition so to hear from someone who has been doing it for 5 years makes me realise that it is a lot for the children and not something I am doing differently!

    I have been following your blog throughout the exhibition and it has really helped and inspired me – thank you!

  2. Thanks for sharing these! I’ve been trying to provide as many tools for my students as possible, and your checklists have much needed wisdom that has been lacking thus far.

  3. I have been following your blog since I began the undertaking of our school’s first Exhibition back in March. We held our Exhibition tonight, and I absolutely appreciate all of your insights, tips, and strategies–they helped to make a very successful night for my students! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

