Learning to Give

At the end of the year, we’re caught up in reports, portfolios and in my case, finding a job for next year. It’s all been a bit overwhelming. So, instead of planning more work for my kids, making sure all is on track academically, and stressing myself out more, I decided to detour just a bit to encourage the kids to care.

“The purpose of human life is to serve, and to show compassion and the will to help others.” – Albert Schweitzer

We were just starting our unit on media and its influence, so I thought we could campaign to help gather supplies for a homeless charity our school supports. Our secondary school has collected blankets and toiletries every year to give to a men’s shelter in the area. I realized that the elementary school doesn’t get involved, and why shouldn’t they?

I introduced the idea to my students, and we brainstormed ways that we could help out. They decided to make posters, a video, go to classes and introduce the idea at assembly. They also made extra boxes to gather supplies to place around the elementary school.

DSCN1105Although I introduced the idea, my students ran with it. They liked making the boxes and doing the skit. They’ve liked seeing the results of their campaign and the supplies they’ve obtained. They talked about how it was important to take action.

It’s a start toward encouraging students to take action on their own. What action will come from them? How much do I need to encourage action? Service? How do I create the opportunities for this?

It’s important, and I want it to more a part of our school experience.

“The purpose of human life is to serve, and to show compassion and the will to help others.” – Albert Schweitzer

Leave a Reply

