Seesaw: Fun with reflections

Over these past few weeks, we’ve been playing around with Seesaw. I had heard talk of it last year on Twitter and ignored it, thinking I’ve got my edublog. It’s moving along nicely. This year, taking into account parents’ request of hearing more about their children’s progress, I decided to give it a try.

Screenshot of the class feed

Screenshot of the class feed

Seesaw is an online journal or eportfolio site. It’s a web-based site, with an app. for iPads and iPhones, and it’s free, although it has a paid option which gives you more access. There is a class feed, individual student journals, and a blog connected to it. Parents can join and have access to their child’s portfolio and the blog.

So far, we are loving it. What I found easiest about Seesaw is the ability to quickly add content–for both students and teachers. You click a + button and get options that look like this:

Add items buttons

Add items buttons

Students can easily take a photo of themselves and their learning or video record (up to 5 minutes, I believe). They can upload documents, write notes. On each option, students can record their voice if they prefer that to writing. We have spent some time each week where students choose what they want to reflect on and how they are going to do it. We’ve talked about reflecting on learning and what it means.

Students keep all of their work under their name, and then parents can see a running record of their child’s learning. We are bringing in parents this week, so will let you know how that goes.

Student group work. If you would click the play button, you could hear a student describing what they were doing.

Student group work. If you would click the play button, you could hear a student describing what they were doing.

 

At the end of last week, students were doing a lot of group work, and I had our iPad so I tried to capture as much learning as I could. Within 5 minutes, I had visited each group, taken their photo and then asked them what they were doing and how they were going about it. I tagged each group member, clicked the nice check button, and it was done. It was really fun and easy.

I also found that with an iPad or touch screen, you can draw and talk at the same time, so it would be really useful for Math.

I’ve talked with friends who are using it with kindergarten classes. I teach grade 5 and am finding it incredibly worthwhile. I’ve gone a little “teched-out” geeky with Seesaw. Now I’m trying to figure out how to connect with other educators using it through the Connected Blogs function.

It’s worth checking out. I’m excited that this is part of our normal class practice this year.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

